The Lighted Window

The Lighted Window

Sara Teasdale

I think this poem is about an adult losing their childlike self. Honestly, this poem is a bit depressing to me. In it, a man tells someone that he hurried down a sidewalk and got distracted by all the decorations a storefront has. But, just as he became really excited, he remind himself that he is an adult and needs to leave that behind. Like, I mentioned: depressing. Considering I am ‘supposed’ to be an adult, I shouldn’t love Disney or Christmas decorations or animated kid movies; but I do. I feel like this poem is purposefully sad and somber. Losing the qualities you had as a kid is a sad thing; losing the trust kids have, the excitement, energy, etc.. Once we become adults all those characteristics are replaced by busyness, and distractions, and tiredness. I feel like I do see moments of childlike excitement in the adults around me, but then I have also seen them reel it back in to their adult self. Though sad, I like the poems message and the truth behind it.

In “the Lighted Window” imagery is the device that sticks out to me. The descriptions the poet gives all the things in the window is exciting. Everything is described as amazing and contributes an upbeat, energetic tone. However, there is a shift in the poem. Its starts out normal then begins to build with excitement. But, before that excitement can go anywhere, it’s cut off completely as the person in the poem remembers to be the adult. Then it drops to somber and melancholy as they once more become an adult and lose their “boyhood’. Also the repetation the poem has helps the reader understand a shift. It begins by explaining a man hurrying down a sidewalk in winter; distracted by things. But, then he sees the shop. At the end, the poet restates that he is walking down sidewalk after losing his boyhood. That repetition helps the reader understand a return to the adult world.

Leave a Reply

